Your cart is empty.

Theodore - "Hold You Like a Lover"

Theodore - "Hold You Like a Lover"

$ 12.98

Theodore is certainly neither traditional country music nor the twang country-rock that often goes by alt-country. Theodore brings an ethereal honesty to their songs that make them stand on their own.

The album Hold You Like A Lover is cohesive in its intimacy. Opener “I Won’t be a Stranger” is the kind of song that builds into a perfect crescendo with lyrics that hit you in the heart. The middle of the album stretches out augmented by trumpet, tuba, banjo, harmonica, and more - “Half Pint” uses all these in a beautifully dynamic song that soars between screaming highs and intimate lows. The group gets a little abstract and freaky on the hazy trailing off of “Death’s Head,” and then “Send My Love” finishes off the album with a soft love song and leaves the listener with the reverberations of the slide lead still in his head.
One of the more honest works you’ll ever hear, Hold You Like A Lover evokes thoughts of classic Neil Young – complete with harmonica backdrop, an earthy landscape, and a touch of Langhorne Slim as well. 

1. I Won’t Be a Stranger
2. Betting to Show
3. Evergreen
4. Across the River
5. When You Call
6. Furnished Room
7. Half Pint
8. Water is Wide
9. Death’s Head
10. Send My Love

mp3: 320kbps mp3s delivered immediately upon purchase
CD: Jewel case with full lyric booklet
LP: 150g black vinyl, contains lyric sheet and digital download